The Broadmoor Pikes Peak International Hill Climb Announces Race Dates Through 2022

Tuesday, Sep. 6 2016

Colorado Springs——–The Broadmoor Pikes Peak International Hill Climb, brought to you by Gran Turismo, will stage its 95th running on Sunday, June 25, 2017.

The nation’s second-oldest motorsports race behind only the legendary Indianapolis 500, will follow a highly successful 100th Anniversary Race this summer when 100 competitors (65 autos and 35 motorcycles), put together one of the best races in the history of the Race to the Clouds on June 26, 2016.

The exclusive field included 18 rookies who accepted the challenge of the grueling course, navigating 156 turns beginning at 9,390 feet at the Official Start Line, and ending 12.42 miles later at the 14,115-foot summit of Pikes Peak, America’s Mountain.

There were 11 countries represented by the talented field of drivers and riders: Japan, Canada, Finland, England, France, Australia, Taiwan, USA, Poland, Brazil, and Scotland.

“We were extremely pleased with the way the 100th Anniversary race, Fan Fest and other SpeedWeek events were conducted,” said PPIHC Executive Director Megan Leatham. “It was a fitting tribute to the history of the event. By limiting the field to 100 drivers and riders, we believe that had a positive impact on the race’s national and international prestige producing some of the best times and performances ever recorded.”

Over 1,500 credentialed personnel including media, competitors, crew members, operations staff and race officials were on the mountain along with more than 5,000 spectators who enjoyed the race from several designated spectator areas.

Competitors will begin their application process on November 7, 2016 and registration will close on January 27, 2017. The number of participants for 2017 has not been set.  Competitors will be notified of their acceptance on February 17th with the official field of entries announced on February 20th.

The 100th Anniversary was highlighted by a pair of sub-nine minute finishes featuring two PPIHC stars, Romain Dumas of France and Rhys Millen, the New Zealander who makes his home in California.

One week after winning at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, Dumas won the talent-loaded Unlimited Division clocking a time of 8:51.445, (the second-fastest in the history of the event) driving a 2016 Norma M20 RD Limited. He also captured the titles in the 2012 Pikes Peak Open and the 2014 Unlimited Divisions.  With this year’s win on America’s Mountain, Dumas became the first driver to have earned victories at Le Mans and Pikes Peak in the same year.

In 1992, Rhys Millen was named Rookie of the Year when he won the Pikes Peak Open Division driving a Mazda with a winning time of 12:29.100 on the gravel course.  This year, Millen drove his 2016 eO PP100 to victory in the Electric Modified Class with a time of 8:57.118, in his 24th appearance on Pikes Peak capturing his 11th title.  His win this summer established a new course record in the Electric Modified Class.

The overall course record of 8:13.878 was set by Sebastien Loeb of France in 2013, who piloted his Peugeot 208 T16 Pikes Peak model while winning the Unlimited Division with his jaw-dropping performance.  Dumas and Millen now join Loeb in a club of three, the Eight Minute Elite.

The Race to the Clouds has not just been a prized destination for men and their autos and motorcycles.  Michele Mouton of France became the first woman to win a championship when she captured the Open Rally division in 1984 and 1985 in her Audi Quattro. Other women who achieved success on America’s Mountain include Jeri Unser, the 12th Unser to compete in the PPIHC, who won the Electric Auto title in 2003, and Brianne Corn, who took home the winner’s trophy in the 2011 Time Attack 4WD class.

In 2016 Michelle Disalvo (Manteca, CA) took 4th and Elisabeth Deeter (Austin, TX) finished 7th in the Pikes Peak Lightweight Motorcycle Division.

For a century, the world’s most demanding motorsports hill climb has attracted fearless competitors who have triumphed on Pikes Peak, including the greats of American motorsport –  Al Unser, Al Unser, Jr., Louis Unser, Bobby Unser, Mario Andretti, Parnelli Jones, Roger Mears, Rick Mears and scores of others, including generations of racing families with names like Dallenbach, Donner, and Vahsholtz.

The 2017 Race Week Schedule, ticket and camping information, and all other event details can be found at:

The Pikes Peak International Hill Climb Future Dates

2017——June 25 (Fan Fest – June 23)

All future races will be tentatively scheduled for the last Sunday in June:

2018——June 24 (Fan Fest – June 22)

2019——June 30 (Fan Fest – June 28)

2020——June 28 (Fan Fest – June 26)

2021——June 27 (Fan Fest – June 25)

2022——June 26 (Fan Fest – June 24) (The 100th Running)


Request for Invitation & Registration Timeline:

October 2016 – Rule Book posted on PPIHC website

November 7, 2016 – 2017 PPIHC Registration Opens

January 27, 2017 – 2017 PPIHC Registration Closes

February 17, 2017 – Competitors informed if they will be invited to participate in the 2017 race

February 20, 2017 – 2017 Competitor List posted on PPIHC website

March 4, 2017 – Deadline for competitors to withdraw from the 2017 race with a refund

May 1, 2017 – Deadline for wait-listed competitors to be added to the field


 Mike Moran

 Senior Media Consultant

 1631 Mesa Avenue, Suite E

 Colorado Springs, CO 80906

 (719) 634-7333

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.