• 1916

    First race. Record was set by Rea Lentz at 20:55.6.

  • 1924

    Victorious Lexington team won and took the first Penrose Trophy to Indiana.

  • 1927

    The Stock Car division was started, but discontinued from 1935 to 1956 because of the economy.

  • 1929

    Jerry Unser joined brothers Louis and Joe to start the tradition of family racing on Pikes Peak.

  • 1933

    Glenn Schultz dominated the Open Wheel division, winning six times in this Stutz.

  • 1940

    The Pikes Peak Auto Hill Climb Association becomes the sponsor of the race.

  • 1949

    Louis Unser came across the finish line in reverse and lost to Al Rogers.

  • 1953

    The SCCA becomes a sponsor and sports cars become a new division.

  • 1954

    Motorcycles resume as part of the Hill Climb for the first time since 1916.

  • 1956

    Bobby Unser claimed the Open Wheel record in 14:27 and began a string of wins.

  • 1963

    J.C. Agajanian promoted the race and brought many nationally famous drivers.

  • 1966

    Nick Sanborn won the Stock Car division with the first front-wheel drive car in the race.

  • 1971

    Ak Miller won the Stock Car division with the first alternative fuel car (propane).

  • 1972

    Utility vehicles introduced the four-wheel drive to the Peak.

  • 1982

    John Buffum wins in the first all-wheel drive car on Pikes Peak.

  • 1984

    Michelle Mouton becomes the first woman winner and record-breaker for the race.

  • 1988

    The Truck division was begun with Robert Sievert winning in 15:04.53.

  • 1992

    Ralph Bruning got his seventh stock car win with a 12:26.34 run.

  • 1994

    Rod Millen set the 10-minute record (10:04.06), the fastest time for an all-dirt course.

  • 1995

    Sid Compton brought the first big-rig truck to the mountain.

  • 1997

    The 75th running of the race and the founding of the Hill Climb Hall of Fame (Al Rogers).

  • 1999

    Davey Durelle is the “winningest” motorcycle racer on Pikes Peak.

  • 2007

    Leonard and Clint Vahsholtz set records for the most wins for father/son.

  • 2011

    Nobuhiro Tajima broke the 10-minute barrier with a time of 9:51.278.

  • 2012

    Records fall in motorcycles and cars with the first race on a fully paved road (Rhys Millen).



  • Race Fans Will Get Rare Glimpse Into The Past On June 26

    A Pair Of Special Exhibition Runs Featuring The Historic Yellow Devil And Rod Millen’s Record-Setting Celica Will Open Race Day For The Broadmoor Pikes Peak International Hill Climb On Sunday, June 26 Colorado Springs——-A special treat is in store for the thousands of fans who line the course early in the morning for the 94th […]

    2016 Website Post Banner
    2017 Acura NSX Supercar to Make its North American Racing Debut at 2016 Broadmoor PPIHC

    Two Acura NSX supercars and a new NSX-inspired, all-electric 4-motor SH-AWD Concept will compete in the 100th anniversary of Pikes Peak International Hill Climb Acura NSX, MDX and TLX will serve as official pace cars TORRANCE, Calif. (June 9, 2016) –Acura will field a pair of 2017 Acura NSX supercars in the 100th Anniversary of […]

  • Cavallino Logo
    Cavallino Appointed Official Clothing Supplier of The Broadmoor Pikes Peak International Hill Climb

    COLORADO SPRINGS, COLO. – The Broadmoor Pikes Peak International Hill Climb Brought to you by Gran Turismo is pleased to announce that it has signed an agreement with Cavallino Group LLC that will see the Massachusetts based merchandising company become the official merchandiser of The Broadmoor PPIHC. Cavallino Group is a rapidly growing apparel company […]

    PPIHClogo_100 Website Featured Image
    Event Structure for 100th Anniversary of The Broadmoor PPIHC Announced

    COLORADO SPRINGS, COLO.  (October 30, 2015) – The Board of Directors of The Broadmoor Pikes Peak International Hill Climb Brought to you by Gran Turismo has released a general overview for the structure of the 2016 event in preparation for the 100th Anniversary race scheduled for June 26, 2016. One of the largest changes to […]

  • Watch the PPIHC on YouTube


  • 2016 Website Post Banner

    Pikes Peak – America’s Mountain Protocol Bulletin Posted Online: June 8, 2016 IMPORTANT REMINDERS The following will be strictly enforced: Under no circumstances is the parking lot at Santa’s Workshop to be used for parking of passenger vehicles, race vehicles, and/or trailers of competitors and/or teams at any time. The speed limit on the Pikes […]

    2016 Website Post Banner
    Meetings and Schedules Bulletin

    Schedule and Mandatory Meeting Bulletin – 6/1/2016 Posted Online: June 8, 2016 Competitor Race Week Schedule: http://www.ppihc.com/wp-content/uploads/2016-Competitor-Race-Week-Schedule.pdf Mandatory Meetings for Competitors Race Week: 11:00am-3:30pm – Mandatory Rookie Orientation (Pikes Peak – America’s Mountain): http://www.ppihc.com/wp-content/uploads/Rookie-Orientation.pdf June 20, 2016 – 5:00pm-6:00pm – Mandatory Drivers’/Riders’ Meeting (Hotel Eleganté – Pikes Peak Room-Joint Session) Riders will break off after […]

  • 2016 Website Post Banner
    PPIHC App Press Release

    The Broadmoor Pikes Peak International Hill Climb Brought to you by Gran Turismo (PPIHC) is pleased to announce the continued partnership with local engineering firm KS Technologies (KST). New for 2016, the PPIHC app is now free for all Apple iOS and Android users. The PPIHC app, available for mobile devices running Apple’s iOS 9+ […]

    2016 Website Post Banner
    Competitor Credentials Bulletin

    Competitor/Crew Credential and Access Card Information Posted Online: April 12, 2016 Last Updated: April 12, 2016     Competitor Credential Information Each registered driver/rider will receive one competitor credential. Drivers/Riders receive four extra crew credentials at no additional charge. Sidecar Competitors receive 2 competitor credentials (rider and passenger) and then four extra crew credentials at […]